I’m back folks and feeling lonely

Well I am back from my travels and back in the thick of  work. It is taking me some time to refocus and get my head around this course, and I am not there yet. I am impressed and envious of the progress others have made and most have completed the course requirements and have moved on to bigger and better things. I have had a look at one of two of the blogs and have seen your draft plans I will try to study these in more detail and comment.

At the moment I am sitting at the computer in a small rural maternity unit doing night shift cover. I thought I might try to read others posts and see how I think I might be able to move my own project forward. Although I have not been posting here things have been moving along fairly rapidly in the midwifery school towards our new program next year. I have a couple of projects I need to be working on, but I am not at all sure I can use these for the purpose of this DFLP course. The time frame for development of these projects is too short to complete the rquirments of this course. One problem is that I will be very busy working on these and meeting my other work commitments, diverting my thinking into another area for the DFLP course would be very hard however if I do not complete the DFLP course I will lose my professional development funding for next year. What a dilemma!! 😦  Don’t get me wrong I have enjoyed the work I have done on this course and the learning I have achieved through this, I want to complete but just feeling very directionless with this at the moment. Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ll back to what I said earlier in the year – pick something small and easily achieved. I know you want to do something that is part of what is going on already but maybe that’s too big and impacted too much by other things and people.

    Think of soemthing small & that you have 100% ‘power’ over – that does not depend on other people. Also, make it soemthing that you can write up and publish & make into your research platform – doing something in our midwifery program may not allow you this sort of freedom.

    What about some sort of PD ‘thing’ for rural midwives – maybe around digital literacy?

    Reply
  2. yes, I agree with Sarah. And, you could drop in to EDC and talk about it with people there. They might see something you are not

    Reply

Leave a Reply

